It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:44 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Wilting Roses
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 1:59 pm 

Hello all, I'm new to organic gardening (well new on so so many levels actually). I've been reading Howard's books and website info and did as much research as possible. I know that this is a process and can't imagine that I'd be perfect out of the shoot. However, I planted my new Double Knockouts last night and today my wife reports they are wilted something fierce. Any advice on what to get them perked up? Will they perk up?

My steps were as follows:

1. Tilled 1/2 bag compost into existing soil down to depth of about 6-8".
2. Added Lava Sand, Dried Molasses, Gardenville Organic Fertilizer, Earthworm Castings, Corn Meal and mixed in 6 more inches of compost.
3. Spread out the mound into a bowl, wet the bowl till moist.
4. Removed all soil from the existing roots of the roses (gently bathing it away in my wheel barrow)
5. Bathed in Garret Juice & Thrive (let it sit for 5 minutes or so)
6. Planted in the raised mound the covered the mound in .5 - 1 inch of earthworm castings and compost.
7. Watered the mound and then mulched with native texas shredded hardwood.
8. I ran the sprinklers in the eve on the entire new bed (with other perennials) and adjusted the sprinkler so that it didn't hit the roses straight on. The water ran for 20 minutes.

Thanks for any feedback you can provider, if I need to supply any other info please ask.

Nathan

Post subject: Re: Wilting Roses
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:35 pm 

Where are you located? If you're in Texas, and you've planted your roses in full sun (which I imagine you have), it's HOT today. My knockouts are drooping, too, and they are established. You might try giving your rose a little bit of very light shade in the hottest part of the day for the next several days since it's going to be so hot for April.