It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 1:08 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Fall gardening
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 8:21 am 

I'm not good at any of this...but would like to be. How do you find out what can be planted in Texas for a fall garden.....and when do you plant it? I know it's a dumb question.....but I'd really like to try a fall garden once in my life!!!! Thanks for the help.
Kesner

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 8:52 pm 

There's a couple of good sources for planting tables in Texas. One is Howard's vegetable garden book, and the other is Texas Gardener magazine. What, in specific, are you wanting to plant? I will be happy to give you some date guidelines on requested veggies, but the list is too long to type out tonight. I posted the info on this site about ayear ago, and I'll see if I can find that old post and link it for you.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 9:05 pm 

Well, it was easier to find than I thought it would be. I posted this last Summer in a similar thread.

http://www.dirtdoctor.com/forum/viewtop ... all+garden

Post subject: Fall gardening
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 8:46 am 

Dragonfly, I am so happy you answered my post. Thank you. I think I'd like to do lettuce, spinach and some turnips--do you think I could do those? If so, tell me when you think I ought to try to plant the seeds.
Thank you very much. (oh, maybe I ought to tell you, I planted a pkg. of spinach seed this spring and it didn't even come up....so maybe your advice should be to someone who might have a black thumb instead of a green one)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:20 pm