It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:30 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Corn gluten and Bermuda
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 1:27 pm 

Hello from the Texas Hill Country!
I'm a newbie to the board and to organic gardening and I have also read posts on this board and others to how terrible bermuda can be...I didn't plant it!! I just need a little clarification on a few items.

Land is about 5 acres with stand of Live Oaks, Red Oaks, flameleaf sumacs, native grasses and wildflowers and a thin layer of soil with plenty of rock strewn between. The property has never been cultivated and is considered to be Native Pasture.

My project will be to convert the lawn area - about 1/4 acre into a mix of native grasses (buffalo and side oats gramma from seed) and wildflowers. The yard is gently sloping but could be prone to heavy run off if there was no vegetation. Within the immediate yard area - closest to the house I have bermuda growing along with weeds and our native texas limestone rocks :) . I have been told to get rid of the weeds in preparation for the buffalo grass and do this by using corn gluten or a product called Finale. I plan on converting the yard into 4 sections - 1 per growing season. So in saying all of this here is my question:
Will corn gluten kill bermuda?
When I kill all of the weeds and bermuda with corn gluten(hopefully) what do I do about the little soil I do have to keep it from washing down the pasture?
How long do I wait before planting the buffalo and side oats gramma since they will be planted from seed?
I plan on bringing in compost and a little soil but how long do I wait to do this?

Thanks in advance!
Jeff

Post subject: corn gluten and bermuda
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:53 am